Impact Award

The nominees for the Impact Award 2018 are selected. The jury, led by Barbara Baarsma, faced the difficult task to select 6 nominees from the nominated candidates of all Amsterdam knowledge institutes. The jury was very impressed by the candidates nominated and it was not an easy choice to make.

This year the Impact Award will be awarded for the first time to researchers who have realized an important contribution to society with their impressive innovations.

The Impact Award is awarded in two categories: alpha/gamma and beta/life sciences.

The nominees are:

Beta/life sciences
René Bernards | Netherlands Cancer Institute/Antoni van Leeuwenhoek | Molecular Carcinogenesis
Marcel van Herk | Netherlands Cancer Institute/Antoni van Leeuwenhoek | Radiotherapy
Sophia Kramer | Amsterdam UMC – locatie VUmc | KNO-Hoofdhalschirurgie, sectie Ear & Hearing – Amsterdam Public Health research institute
Philip Scheltens | Amsterdam UMC – locatie VUmc | Neurologie – Alzheimercentrum

Erik Scherder | Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam | Faculteit Gedrags- en Bewegingswetenschappen IBBA: Institute for Brain and Behavior Amsterdam
Peter Weijs | Hogeschool van Amsterdam |Bewegen, Sport en Voeding

The Impact award is an award for the ‘established’ researchers, who have already acquired a track record in the field of valorisation. With this Impact Award, we would like to honor the researchers who have made a meaningful contribution to society, with their important innovations.

During the festive finale on 19 June, the jury will choose the winners of this first Amsterdam Impact Award 2018.

Button aanmelden

Who is eligible for the award
To be eligible for the award the researcher has led or delivered a project or achievement with a large societal or economic impact. In addition, the research must have made a substantial innovative step and there must have been a successful collaboration with an external party, like a societal organisation or company. Another condition is that there has to be a link with one of the Amsterdam knowledge institutes who are participating in the Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award.

In the run-up to the finals, the jury, chaired by Barbara Baarsma, has selected the final nominations for each category. During the festive finale on 19 June, the nominees will have the opportunity to present themselves to the jury and the public by means of a video. Based on this, the jury will choose the winners of this first Amsterdam Impact Award 2018. 


  • Barbara Baarsma, Director of Knowledge Development Rabobank and chair of the jury
  • Joris Tinbergen, CEO Cleverbase
  • Marja Zonnevylle, General Manager Shell Technology Portfolio
  • Ton van Leeuwen, Biomedical Engineering and Physics Chairman at AMC
  • Alfred Nijkerk, CEO SumiQ
  • Edo Roos Lindgreen, Professor of Data Science in Auditing at the UvA
  • Nathalie de Vent, Co-director Advanced Neuropsychological Diagnostics Infrastructure (ANDI) and winner of 2017

The regulations
The regulations of the Impact Award can be downloaded here.
By entering the competition and by submitting the nomination form,  the terms and conditions of the Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award 2018 have been accepted.

Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award 2018
The Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award is the Amsterdam competition for innovative ideas with a societal and/or commercial impact. This award is open to all researchers, staff and students in all disciplines from all Amsterdam universities, universities of applied sciences, academic hospitals and public research centers. On Tuesday, June 19, 2018, the innovation award for the best applicable innovation resulting from Amsterdam research will be presented for the thirteenth time.